Voter’s Edge California
Get the facts before you vote.
Brought to you by
League of Women Voters of California Education Fund
KPBS Voters Guide@KPBSNews
November 8, 2016 — California General Election

City of ClaytonCandidate for City Council

Photo of Julie Pierce

Julie Pierce

Clayton City Councilmember
4,447 votes (33.75%)Winning
Use tab to activate the candidate button. Use "return" to select this candidate. You can access your list by navigating to 'My Choices'.
For more in-depth information on this candidate, follow the links for each tab in this section. For most screenreaders, you can hit Return or Enter to enter a tab and read the content within.
Candidate has provided information.

My Top 3 Priorities

  • Maintain Clayton's financial stability through careful plannng and smart budgeting.
  • Keep the historic ambience of our small downtown while enhancing it with small shops and commercial buildings and businesses that bring services to our residents. Preserve our scenic vistas, ridgelines, open spaces and award-winning trail system.
  • Continue to work regionally to protect local planning control as the region plans for the future.



Profession:Council Member
City Council Member, City of Clayton — Elected position (1992–current)
Commissioner, Contra Costa Transportation Authority (CCTA) — Appointed position (1992–current)
Executive Board Member, delegate to ABAG, Contra Costa County Conference of Mayors, the 19 cities of our county — Appointed position (2009–current)
President, Association of Bay Area Governments representing the 101 cities and 9 counties of the Bay Area — Appointed position (2014–current)
Secretary, Clayton Historical Society — Appointed position (2014–current)
Custom Dressmaker specializing in custom formal and career wear, self employed (1972–2014)


Iowa State University Home Economics, Textiles and Clothing, Construction (1970)

Community Activities

Co-Chair, Clayton 4th of July Parades (2005–current)
Co-founder & organizer, Clayton Concerts in The Grove Park (2008–current)
Member, Clayton Historic Society Gardens and Christmas Homes Tours (2011–current)
Committee member, CBCA Art & Wine Festival, Vendor Breakfast chair (1995–current)
Co-Chair, Clayton Raise-A-Gym Committee to raise funds to build Clayton Community Gym (1996–2003)



Julie is a Council Member in the City of Clayton and past Chair of the Contra Costa Transportation Authority (CCTA). In January 2016, she was asked by her regional colleagues to serve a second two-year term as President of the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) Executive Committee and is the ABAG delegate to the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC). On the state level, Julie is also the Immediate Past President of the California Council of Governments (CALCOG) where she serves as the CCTA delegate. She has been working on transportation, land use and growth management policy issues for nearly 29 years, beginning in 1987, when as a Clayton Planning Commissioner she was appointed to TRANSPAC, the Central Contra Costa Regional Transportation Planning Committee.


She has served on the Clayton City Council and the CCTA since 1992, serving five times as Mayor, and three times as Chair of CCTA. Julie was recognized for her leadership by the Contra Costa Council in 1995 for the adoption of Contra Costas very first Countywide Comprehensive Transportation Plan, and was honored by the San Francisco Chapter of the Women's Transportation Seminar with their 1998 Woman of the Year award.


Julie served as chair of Contra Costas Shaping Our Future Policy Committee, which brought elected officials and stakeholders from the cities and county together to develop a plan to strengthen the linkages between housing needs, jobs and transportation infrastructure. This effort lead to the Urban Limit Line consensus included as a basic tenet in the renewal of Contra Costas 2004 Growth Management policy in Measure J.


Julie also represents the Contra Costa cities on ABAGs Regional Planning Committee and on the ABAG Executive Committee where she was instrumental in the negotiation of the Plan Bay Area Sustainable Communities Strategy (SCS). Protecting local control of planning decisions as the region plans for the future is a high priority. Julie is currently leading ABAG in the negotiation of a merger with MTC to effectuate one regional agency to guide integrated land use and transportation in the Bay Area. Julie has been recognized locally, regionally and inter-regionally for her leadership, ability to build consensus from divergent views and for promoting a county and region-wide approach to transportation planning, land use and growth management.


Who supports this candidate?

Featured Endorsements

  • JoAnn Caspar, President Clayton Historical Society
  • Robert Hoyer, 1st Mayor of Clayton

Elected Officials (4)

  • David Shuey, Clayton Councilmember
  • Keith Haydon, Clayton Councilmember
  • Jim Diaz, Clayton Councilmember
  • Howard Geller, Clayton Councilmember

Individuals (75)

  • Dennis & Memory Woodard
  • Carl Wolfe
  • Sonja Wilkin
  • Harvey & Louise Wall
  • Bill & Chris Vineyard
  • Sally Turner
  • Marcia & Frank Thome
  • Ted & Judi Sudderth
  • Hank Stratford
  • Carol & Fred Siegel
  • Chris Smith
  • Jim & Shannon Seven
  • Diane Sbranti
  • Priscilla Schmalzel
  • Bob & Rett Rossi
  • Beverly Rosselli
  • Rory Richmond
  • Alice Ponti
  • Steve Pierce
  • Linda Pinder
  • Robert & Jenny Pierce
  • Merry Pelletier
  • Shirley Parent
  • Becky Overstreet
  • Neil McChesney
  • Deborah & Phil Meylan
  • Nancy & Marty Milanese
  • Charmetta Mann
  • Bob & Velaine Manion
  • Jim & Robin Louchis
  • Linda Landgraf
  • Gerald Kosel
  • Dave & Janet Johnson
  • Craig & Sandra Johnson
  • Tom & Diane Inman
  • John & Carol Hunter
  • Vicki & Merle Hufford
  • Linda & Jim Hudak
  • Andy Hosler
  • Ted & Claire Holmsen
  • Dick & Helen Hilbourn
  • Carol Herington
  • Peter & Debbie Hellmann
  • Ed & Cecilia Hartley
  • Doug Hartelt
  • Al & Shirley Hansen
  • Bill & Kathy Gray
  • Howard & Debra Geller
  • Gail Fitzgerald
  • Fred & Kim Freeman
  • Peggy Eyres
  • Janet Easton
  • Jim & Dana Diaz
  • Scott & Linda DeVenney
  • Natalie & Casey Cline
  • James & Joan Carolan
  • Tuija Catalano
  • Tom & Sharon Cianfrano
  • Mary Byrd
  • David Bruzzone
  • James & Linda Boessenecker
  • Jeanne Boyd
  • Karen & Tim Bredbenner
  • Mariana & John Behdjet
  • George & Sandra Beckham
  • Dr. Ray & Diana Bauer
  • Candace & John Bass
  • Steve & Cindy Barton
  • Joyce & Dave Atkinson
  • Peggy Arundell
  • Tami Anderson
  • Karen Amos
  • Debora Allen
  • Julia Aguilar
  • Sandra Adams

Please share this site to help others research their voting choices.