Voter’s Edge California
Get the facts before you vote.
Brought to you by
League of Women Voters of California Education Fund
KPBS Voters Guide@KPBSNews
November 6, 2018 — California General Election

Peralta Community College DistrictCandidate for Trustee, Area 5

Photo of Cindi Reiss

Cindi Reiss

Community College Educator
26,141 votes (71.71%)Winning
Use tab to activate the candidate button. Use "return" to select this candidate. You can access your list by navigating to 'My Choices'.
For more in-depth information on this candidate, follow the links for each tab in this section. For most screenreaders, you can hit Return or Enter to enter a tab and read the content within.
Candidate has provided information.
Thank candidate for sharing their information on Voter's Edge.

My Top 3 Priorities

  • Demand strict oversights, accountability, and transparency
  • Advocate for students and ensure access to critical resources, quality education, and integrity in learning environments
  • Ensure public dollars are used effectively and responsibly to promote student success



Harvard Graduate School of Education Certificate, Educational Leadership (2012)
University of California, Irvine PhD, Art History (2005)
San Francisco State University MA, Art (1999)
University of California BA, Comparative Literature (1995)
University of California BA, Art History (1995)

Who supports this candidate?

Featured Endorsements

  • Honorable Nancy Skinner, CA State Senator
  • Peralta Federation of Teachers
  • SEIU 1021

Organizations (12)

  • Global Citizenship Alliance
  • Oakland Rising
  • Alameda County Democratic Central Committee
  • Wellstone Democratic Renewal Club
  • East Bay Young Democrats
  • National Union of Healthcare Workers
  • Sheetmetal Workers Local Union 104
  • Alameda Labor Council
  • BBBON - Block by Block Organizing Network
  • Asian Pacific American Democratic Caucus of Alameda County
  • Greater Metropolitan Oakland Democratic Club
  • East Bay Women's Political Alliance

Elected Officials (25)

  • Honorable Cecilia Valdez, San Pablo Councilmember
  • Honorable Gus Newport, Former Mayor, Berkeley
  • Honorable Malia Vella, Vice Mayor, City of Alameda
  • Honorable Ty Alper, Director, Berkeley Unified School District School Board (Berkeley School Board)
  • Honorable Beatriz-Leyva Cutler, Director, Berkeley Unified School District School Board
  • Honorable Dee Rosario, East Bay Regional Park District, Board of Directors
  • Honorable Diane Martinez, Council Member Emeryville
  • Honorable Dan Kalb, Oakland City Council Member (District 1)
  • Honorable Judy Appel, Vice President, Berkeley Unified School District Board of Education (Berkeley School Board)
  • Honorable Kate Harrison, District 4 Council Member, Berkeley
  • Honorable Loni Hancock, Former State Senator
  • Honorable Betty Yee, CA State Controller
  • Honorable Delaine Eastin, CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction (Retired)
  • Honorable Tom Bates, Former Mayor Berkeley
  • Honorable Shanthi Gonzalez, Oakland Unified School Board of Trustees (District 6)
  • Honorable Nicky González Yuen, Peralta Community College District Board of Trustees (Area 4)
  • Honorable Karen Weinstein, Peralta Community College District Board of Trustees (Area 6)
  • Honorable Melissa Wilk, Alameda County Chief Deputy Auditor-Controller
  • Honorable Jesse Arreguín, Mayor, Berkeley
  • Honorable Fiona Ma, CA State Board of Equalization
  • Honorable Sheila Jordan, Alameda County Superintendent of Schools (Retired), former Oakland City Council member
  • Honorable Rob Bonta, State Assembly Member
  • Honorable Tony Thurmond, State Assembly Member
  • Honorable Evan Low, CA State Assembly
  • Honorable Wilma Chan, President, Alameda County Board of Supervisors

Individuals (21)

  • Pooneh Koohyar
  • Donna Luporini Kaplan, Educator, Counselor
  • Erin Lewellen, President and CEO, Global Citizenship Year
  • Dr. Kay Taylor, Founder PINCC; former President, Soroptimist - Oakland Chapter
  • Stephen Fox
  • Dr. Stephen Walrod, Founder, Oakland Leaf
  • Pamela Drake, Author, DRAKETALK Oakland; Wellstone Democratic Club, State and Local Politics Coordinator; Member, Alamed
  • Bradley Davis, President, West Valley College
  • Dr. Matais Pouncil, Interim Provost, West Valley College
  • Dr. Augie Gallego, Chancellor Emeritus, San Diego Community College District; Board Member, UC San Diego Foundation; Boa
  • Dr. Jochen Fried, Founder, Global Citizenship Alliance; Former Education Director, Salzburg Global
  • Dr. Lori Gaskin, Retired President/Superintendent, Santa Barbara City College
  • Dr. David Morse, Past President, Academic Senate of the California Community Colleges
  • Julie Bruno, Past President, Academic Senate of the California Community Colleges
  • Kelly Pernell, President, Berkeley City College Academic Senate
  • Richard Thoele, SEIU 1021 Chapter President, Peralta Community Colleges
  • Dr. Jennifer Shanoski, President, Peralta Federation of Teachers
  • Cleavon Smith, President, Peralta Community College District Academic Senate (Former)
  • Jeff Sanceri, Chair, Peralta Federation of Teachers, Committee on Political Education
  • Donald Moore, President, Peralta District Academic Senate
  • Michael Mills, Chair, Citizen’s Oversight Committee

Please share this site to help others research their voting choices.