Voter’s Edge California
Get the facts before you vote.
Brought to you by
League of Women Voters of California Education Fund
KPBS Voters Guide@KPBSNews
November 6, 2018 — California General Election
Special District

San Francisco Bay Area Rapid TransitCandidate for Director, District 6

Photo of Anu Natarajan

Anu Natarajan

Urban Sustainability Planner
40,270 votes (45.83%)
Use tab to activate the candidate button. Use "return" to select this candidate. You can access your list by navigating to 'My Choices'.
For more in-depth information on this candidate, follow the links for each tab in this section. For most screenreaders, you can hit Return or Enter to enter a tab and read the content within.
Candidate has provided information.
Thank candidate for sharing their information on Voter's Edge.

My Top 3 Priorities

  • As a daily commuter on BART, I want to see significant improvements to cleanliness, safety and reliability and enhancements to commuter experience at the stations and on the trains.
  • As we focus on short term prioritization of use of resources, work on long term sustainable revenues to keep BART a critical transit spine.
  • Work with partners to improve last mile connectivity options at the BART stations including pedestrian and bike paths, and other transit agencies.



Profession:An urban planner and a sustainability consultant.
Legislative Affairs Manager, (2017–current)
Executive Manager, School2Home, Center for Emerging Technology Fund (2015–2017)
Director of Policy and Advocacy, MidPen Housing Corporation (2013–2015)
Councilmember, City of Fremont — Elected position (2004–2014)
Commissioner, Alameda County Housing Authority — Appointed position (2005–2014)
Program Director, Common Good Collaborative, American Leadership Forum Silicon Valley (2010–2013)
Planning Commission, City of Fremont — Appointed position (2002–2004)


University of Washington, Seattle Masters in Urban Design and Urban Planning, Urban Design and Planning (current)
Bangalore University, India Bachelor of Architecture, Architecture (current)

Community Activities

Boardmember, Greenbelt Alliance (2013–current)
Measure RR Citizens Bond Oversight Committee, BART (2017–current)
Board of Directors, Daily Bowl (2017–current)
Board of Directors, League of Women Voters (2015–2018)
Board of Director, LifeElder Care (2015–2017)

Who supports this candidate?

Featured Endorsements

  • San Francisco Chronicle
  • BART Board Director Tom Blalock
  • Sierra Club

Organizations (9)

  • Building Trades of Alameda County
  • Alameda County Labor Council
  • Muslim Dems and Friends, Alameda County
  • Indian American Impact Fund
  • South Alameda County Young Dems
  • Democratic Party of Alameda County
  • League of Conservation Voters of the East Bay
  • East Bay Times
  • San Francisco Chronicle

Elected Officials (53)

  • Alameda County Supervisor Scott Haggerty
  • Alameda County Supervisor Richard Valle
  • Santa Clara County Supervisor Cindy Chavez
  • Santa Clara County Supervisor Dave Cortese
  • State Superintendent of Education Delaine Eastin (ret)
  • Assemblymember Rob Bonta
  • Assemblymember Ash Kalra
  • Assemblymember Kansen Chu
  • Assemblymember Bill Quirk
  • Senator Bob Wieckowski
  • Congressman Eric Swalwell
  • Congressman Ro Khanna
  • State Controller Betty Yee
  • Bryan Gebhardt, FUSD Trustee (ret)
  • Lara Calvert, FUSD Trustee (ret)
  • Nina Moore, FUSD Trustee (ret)
  • Peggy Herndon, FUSD Trustee (ret)
  • BART Board Director Rebecca Saltzman
  • ACWD Director Aziz Akbari
  • ACWD Director Paul Sethy
  • USD Director Anjali Lathi
  • Vice Mayor Judy Zlatnik, Fremont (ret)
  • AC Transit Board Chair Elsa Ortiz
  • Councilmember Eliza Marquez, Hayward
  • AC Transit Director Mark Williams
  • BART Board Director Bevan Dufty
  • BART Board Director Lateefah Simon
  • BART Board Director Nick Josefowitz
  • Mayor Tom Butt, Richmond
  • Mayor Jake McKenzie, Rohnert Park (Chair of MTC)
  • Mayor Lisa Gillmor, Santa Clara
  • Councilmember Emily Duncan, Union City
  • Councilmember Gary Singh, Union City
  • New Haven Trustee Sarabjit Kaur
  • New Haven Trustee Lance Nishihara
  • New Haven Trustee Sharan Kaur
  • Mayor Sam Liccardo, San Jose
  • Councilmember Al Mendell, Hayward
  • Councilmember Francisco Zermano, Hayward
  • Councilmember Sara Lamnin, Hayward
  • Mayor Barbara Halliday, Hayward
  • Vice mayor Ana Apodaca, Newark (ret)
  • Vice Mayor Suzanne Chan, Fremont (ret)
  • Councilmember Raj Salwan, Fremont
  • Councilmember Rick Jones, Fremont
  • Mayor Mark Green, Union City (ret)
  • Mayor Gus Morrison, Fremont (ret)
  • Councilmember Michael Hannon, Newark
  • Councilmember Mike Bucci, Newark
  • Mayor Pauline Cutter, San Leandro
  • Mayor Alan Nagy, Newark
  • Mayor Libby Schaaf, Oakland
  • Mayor Carol Dutra Vernaci, Union City

Individuals (40)

  • Senator Ellen Corbett (ret)
  • Senator Liz Figueroa (ret)
  • Debbi Pearson
  • Janice Gebhardt
  • Sherea Westra
  • Mojna Shaiq
  • Mufaddal Ezzy
  • Vikrum Iyer
  • Doug Ford
  • Patricia Osage
  • Les Mensinger
  • Chinmoy Roy
  • Vin Dham
  • Sarb Hundal
  • Romesh Japra
  • Vikram Bhandari
  • Rona Popal
  • Harris Mojadedi, Union City Planning Commission
  • Harpal Mann, Union City Planning Commission
  • Lynn Ragghianti
  • Margaret Thornberry
  • Chitra Ramanathan
  • Barbara Meerjans, Fremont Art Review Board
  • Mark Cohen, Fremont Planning Commission (ret)
  • Dirk Lorenz, Fremont Planning Commission (ret)
  • Jane Mueller
  • Chitra Vivek, Fremont Library Commission
  • Yogi Chugh, Fremont Planning Commission (ret)
  • Ripple Leung, Fremont Planning Commission
  • Roman Reed, Fremont Planning Commission
  • Reshma Karipineni, Fremont Planning Commission
  • Craig Steckler, Fremont Planning Commission
  • Brannin Dorsey, Fremont Planning Commission
  • Paddy Iyer, Fremont Human Relations Commission
  • John Smith, Fremont Human Relations Commission
  • Linda Wasserman, Fremont Senior Commission
  • Dharminder Dewan, Fremont Human Relations Commission
  • Sonia Khan, Fremont Human Relations Commission
  • Dr. Richard Godfrey, Chair of Fremont Sustainability Commission

Who else is running?

Please share this site to help others research their voting choices.